Each state runs its own unemployment insurance benefits program. Because each state is unique, we created this table of unemployment benefits by state so you can quickly determine how much money you will earn if you claim unemployment benefits, whether or not you will receive additional income if you have dependents, how long you can receive unemployment benefits, and quickly find your state employment office where you can learn more about claiming unemployment benefits.
Table of Contents
- Expanded Unemployment Benefits Under the CARES Act
- Unemployment Benefits By State
- Unemployment Benefits Eligibility
- How to Apply for Unemployment Insurance Benefits
- Unemployment Benefits Are Taxable
Expanded Unemployment Benefits Under the CARES Act
The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act included a section that expanded unemployment benefits by an additional $600 per week on top of states’ benefits. This provision is being rolled out on a state-by-state basis. However, the benefit is retroactive to April 5, 2020.
The additional $600 weekly benefit brings the state and federal unemployment benefits up to an average of the median weekly wage in the United States. However, because the expanded benefits are being offered to everyone on
Other Unemployment Insurance Provisions Under the CARES Act:
The CARES Act improved unemployment benefits in the following ways:
- It provides an additional $600 per week in benefits and payments through July 31, 2020.
- It adds an additional 13 weeks of benefits through December 31, 2020. Most states currently offer 26 weeks of unemployment benefits (see the unemployment benefits by state section below).
- it expands benefits for part-time, seasonal, self-employed, and contract workers (such as those in the gig economy).
- Offers to reimburse the cost for states that waive the one-week waiting period before paying benefits.
Unemployment Benefits By State
A note about this table: The information in this table is up to date at the time of publication. We regularly review this information for accuracy. However, each state maintains its unemployment insurance program, and details change from time to time. We link to each state’s employment bureau, where you can find the most up-to-date information.
Additionally, this table lists the maximum unemployment insurance benefits you can receive. Not all workers will receive the maximum benefit. Benefits are often based on your previous salary, if or when you previously claimed unemployment compensation, and how long you have worked. Each state may also have additional rules regarding whether or not you are out of work through no fault of your own, whether or not you receive any additional income from employment or side gigs, or whether or not you receive additional income from a pension or retirement benefits.
|State||Max Benefits||Employment Agency||Phone Number|
|Alabama Department of Labor||334-242-8025|
|Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development||907-269-4700|
|Arizona Department of Economic Security||1-877-600-2722|
|Arkansas Department of Workforce Services||501-682-2121|
|California Employment Development Department||1-800-300-5616|
|Colorado Department of Labor and Employment||303-318-9000|
$749 with dependents
|Connecticut Department of Labor||860-263-6000|
|Delaware Department of Labor||New Castle County: 302-761-6576|
Other Areas: 1-800-794-3032
|District of Columbia||26 weeks|
|District of Columbia Department of Employment Services||202-724-7000|
|Florida Department of Economic Opportunity||1-800-204-2418|
|Georgia Department of Labor||1-877-709-8185|
|Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations||Oahu: 808-586-8970|
|Idaho Department of Labor||208-332-8942|
$667 with dependents
|Illinois Department of Employment Security||1-800-244-5631|
|Indiana Department of Workforce Development||1-800-891-6499|
|Iowa Workforce Development||1-866-239-0843|
|Kansas Department of Labor||1-800-292-6333|
|Kentucky Career Center Office of Unemployment Insurance||502-564-2900|
|Louisiana Workforce Commission||1-866-783-5567|
|Maine Department of Labor||1-800-593-7660|
|Maryland Department of Labor||410-949-0022|
$1,234 with dependents
|Massachusetts Department of Unemployment Assistance||617-626-6338|
|Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity||1-866-500-0017|
|Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development||Twin Cities Area: 651-296-3644|
Greater Minnesota: 1-877-898-9090
|Mississippi Department of Employment Security||1-888-844-3577|
|Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations||1-800-320-2519|
|Montana Department of Labor and Industry||406-444-2545|
|Nebraska Department of Labor||1-855-995-8863|
|Nevada Department of Employment Training and Rehabilitation||Northern Nevada: 775-684-0350|
Southern Nevada: 702-486-0350
Rural Areas and Out of State Callers: 1-888-890-8211
|New Hampshire||26 weeks|
|New Hampshire Department of Employment Security||1-800-852-3400|
|New Jersey||26 weeks|
|New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development||North New Jersey: 201-601-4100|
Central New Jersey: 732-761-2020
South New Jersey: 856-507-2340
Out-of-state claims: 1-888-795-6672
|New Mexico||26 weeks|
|New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions||1-877-664-6984|
|New York||26 weeks|
|New York Department of Labor||1-888-209-8124|
|North Carolina||12 weeks|
|North Carolina Department of Commerce||1-888-737-0259|
|North Dakota||26 weeks|
|North Dakota Job Service||701-328-4995|
$647 with dependents
|Ohio Department of Job and Family Services||1-877-644-6562|
|Oklahoma Employment Security Commission||1-800-555-1554|
|Oregon Employment Department||1-877-345-3484|
$580 with dependents.
|Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry||1-888-313-7284|
|Puerto Rico||26 weeks|
|Puerto Rico Department of Labor and Human Resources||787-625-7900|
|Rhode Island||26 weeks|
$867 with dependents.
|Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training||401-243-9100|
|South Carolina||20 weeks|
|South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce||1-866-831-1724|
|South Dakota||26 weeks|
|South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation||605-626-3179|
|Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development||1-877-813-0950|
|Texas Workforce Commission||1-800-939-6631|
|U.S. Virgin Islands||26 weeks|
|U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Labor||340-773-1994|
|Utah Department of Workforce Services||Salt Lake and South Davis Counties: 801-526-4400|
Weber and North Davis Counties: 801-612-0877
Utah County: 801-375-4067
Other Counties and Out of State: 1-888-848-0688
|Vermont Department of Labor||1-888-807-7072|
|Virginia Employment Commission||1-866-832-2363|
|Washington Employment Security Department||1-800-318-6022|
|West Virginia||26 weeks|
|Workforce West Virginia||1-800-379-1032|
|Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development||1-844-910-3661|
|Wyoming Department of Workforce Services||307-473-3789|
Unemployment Benefits Eligibility
Again, each state has its own rules governing unemployment compensation benefits. The following are general rules that apply to most states. Visit your state’s employment office for more specific information.
No-fault Loss of Employment
Most states require unemployment insurance benefits recipients to be out of work through no fault of their own. There are some exceptions for certain contract workers whose contract has come to an end, or military veterans who have recently left the military. However, some military retirees may be ineligible in some states if they receive a military pension.
Examples of no-fault loss of employment include being laid off, forced business closures such as those we are seeing during the current environment, temporary layoffs or unpaid furloughs, and in some cases, seasonal work.
Some states do not offer unemployment benefits for gig workers, freelancers, self-employed individuals, or in some cases, seasonal workers.
You Must Be Willing and Able to Work
Most states require workers who are receiving unemployment compensation to be willing and able to work as well as actively seeking suitable employment. In this case, most states define suitable employment as comparable if the wages, hours, and/or working conditions are similar to your previous employment levels. The employment should also align with your prior training, education, and experience.
If you are not physically able to work, then you may consider applying for disability benefits instead of unemployment benefits.
How to Apply for Unemployment Insurance Benefits
You should apply for unemployment compensation as soon as you are unemployed. Most states will make you wait for one week before you are able to apply for unemployment benefits. However, this is currently waived due to the coronavirus outbreak.
Start by starting your personal information, such as your Social Security Number, previous two years of employment history (employer name, location, the position held, etc.), the last date you worked, your wage history, and if applicable, information for your union. You may need additional information, such as your education level, military service history, or other information.
Try Applying online first. Most states allow you to apply online, in-person, or over the phone. However, states are currently overburdened with applications and many are not accepting in-person applications. So your best bet is to try online first. Be patient, as many states are running antiquated systems that are not designed to handle the flood of applications they are receiving.
Once approved, you may be required to meet with an employment counselor at some point. You will also have to certify your attempts to continue your job search. Most states require this on a weekly basis.
Unemployment Benefits Are Taxable
Be aware that unemployment insurance benefits are considered taxable income. However, most states do not automatically withhold any taxes from your unemployment benefits. You may opt to do so, saving you from a large tax bill down the road.
Leave A Comment: