How Do Veteran Property Tax Exemptions Work?
While every Veteran’s situation differs, many states only offer property tax exemptions for wartime Veterans, disabled Veterans, surviving spouses, Veterans over 65 years old, Veterans with low income and more.
Each state’s requirements for property tax exemptions will differ, but we’ll break them down below.
Veteran Property Tax Exemption Amount
The total exemption amount varies from state to state. We explain each state’s guidelines below, but we encourage Veteran homeowners to contact their local municipal tax assessor’s office for the exact exemption amount. There are many factors impacting the total tax exemption or credit you’ll receive such as disability rating, assessed property value, age and income.
More Tax Benefits Available
Military members and their families have special protections under tax laws. Learn more about the benefits you have available as a member of the U.S. military.
To get instant access to our FREE Weekly Updates, join our mailing list.
Veteran Property Tax Exemptions by State
|State||Property Tax Exemption|
|Alabama||Disabled veterans in Alabama may receive a full property tax exemption on their primary residence if the veteran is 100 percent disabled from military service. There is no income limit, but the Veteran cannot have more than 160 acres to qualify. The exemption amount varies across counties within the state.|
|Alaska||In Alaska, a veteran who is 50 percent or more disabled from military service may receive a property tax exemption up to the first $150,000 of the assessed value of their primary residence. Surviving spouses of 60 years or older are eligible to receive the exemption if the veteran passed from a service-related cause.|
|Arizona||To qualify for the property tax exemption in Arizona, a veteran must be totally or permanently disabled from military service and a permanent resident of the state. The exemption has the effect of reducing the assessed value of the real property by up to $3000. However, the assessed value of the property cannot exceed $27,498. The widow or widower can also receive the property tax exemption if the qualifying veteran passed. The qualifications for a surviving spouse include living with the veteran in Arizona at time of death or established residency prior to Jan. 1, 1969, a property value that does not exceed $28,459 and a household income less than $34,901 (if children are present in the household, income cannot exceed $41,870).|
|Arkansas||A disabled veteran may receive a full property tax exemption on their primary residence in Arkansas. The Veteran must be 100 percent permanently or totally disabled, blind in one or both eyes or lost the use of one or more limbs as a result of military service. If the veteran passed, the surviving spouse may receive the exemption for the primary residence as long as they remain unmarried.|
|California||California has two types of full property tax exemptions for permanently or totally disabled veterans. Eligible veterans may receive the basic exemption if the assessed value of the property does not exceed $100,000. This amount is annually adjusted for inflation and is $161,083 for 2023. The other option California offers is a low-income exemption. To qualify, the assessed value of the property cannot exceed $150,000 and the veteran's income must not exceed $72,335. This amount is also adjusted annually and is currently $241,627 for 2023. Surviving spouses are eligible for the exemption as long as they remain unmarried and reside in California.|
|Colorado||In Colorado, veterans who have a 100 percent disability rating may receive a property tax exemption of 50 percent for the first $200,000 of the actual value of their primary residence. Property tax deferrals are available for eligible veterans over the age of 65 and for active duty members. Surviving spouses may receive the exemption if the veteran passed due to a service-related. Applications will be accepted between Jan. 1, 2023 and July 1, 2023.|
|Connecticut||Veterans with a 75 percent or more disability may receive a property tax exemption of $3,000 from the total assessed value of the property in Connecticut. The veteran must have served at least 90 days of active duty and be honorably discharged. Veterans with a disability rating between 10 and 75 percent can apply for a $1,500 value deduction. An additional $10,000 deduction is offered for seriously injured veterans.|
|Delaware||Delaware veterans who are totally or permanently disabled may qualify for a tax credit against 100 percent of non-vocational school district property tax. Eligible veterans must have resided in Delaware for the past three years.|
|Florida||Disabled veterans in Florida can reduce the assessed value of their property by $5,000 if they have a 10 percent or higher disability rating from a service-related cause. Veterans who are totally or permanently disabled may qualify for a full property tax exemption. The exemption transfers to the surviving spouse if the veteran passed.|
|Georgia||Veterans who are 100 percent totally disabled, or entitled as 100 percent disability rate due to unemployability, and honorably discharged may be granted an exemption of up to $50,000 plus an additional amount from paying property taxes for county, municipal and school purposes. The additional sum is currently $98,492 for 2023 and remains taxable. The exemption also extends to the surviving spouse or minor children if the spouse is un-remarried and all continue to occupy the property as a primary residence.|
|Hawaii||Veterans in Hawaii may receive a full property tax exemption on their primary residence if the veteran is 100 percent disabled from military-related causes. Specific exemptions vary based on which country the veteran lives in. Tax exemptions for Hawaii County, Honolulu County, Maui County and Kauai County.|
|Idaho||Disabled veterans in Idaho may receive a property tax reduction of as much as $1,500 on up to one acre of land on their primary residence. The veteran must be recognized as 100 percent disabled from a service-related cause or receive 100 percent compensation due to individual unemployability. Surviving spouse may also use this benefit, however, it is not transferable to a new property after the veteran's death.|
|Illinois||Veterans with a service-related disability rating of at least 50 percent but less than 75 percent can receive a $2,500 property tax exemption on their primary residence. A $5,000 property tax exemption is available to veterans with a disability rating of 75 percent or more.|
|Indiana||Totally disabled veterans are eligible for a property tax exemption of $14,000 or the amount of the assessment. The veteran must be 62 years old with a disability rating of at least 10 percent and have a combined assessed value of $200,000 or less. Partially disabled veterans can reduce the value of their property tax assessment by $24,960 or the amount of the assessment. Surviving spouses may receive the exemption if the veteran passed but must provide proof.|
|Iowa||In Iowa, veterans who have a 100 percent disability rating from service-connected causes are eligible for a full property tax exemption. Surviving spouses may also receive the benefit if the veteran has passed.|
|Kansas||Kansas veterans who are 50 percent or more disabled as a result of service can receive a property tax exemption on their primary residence. To qualify, veterans must be a Kansas resident, residing in Kansas for the year and have a total household income of $37,750 or less. The maximum refund is $700 and qualifying family members may receive it if the veteran has passed.|
|Kentucky||Totally disabled veterans may receive a property tax exemption up to $46,350 on their primary residence in Kentucky. Veterans must be 65 years of age and have a 100 percent disability rating to qualify.|
|Louisiana||In Louisiana, disabled veterans may receive a property tax exemption of up to $15,000 for their primary residence. The veteran must have a 100 percent disability rating from a service-connected event to qualify. Surviving spouses that did not remarry and remain the owner of the primary residence may receive the exemption if the veteran has passed. If the surviving spouse moves to a new property, they can still receive the exemption but only up to the allotted amount on the first property.|
|Maine||A veteran who is 62 years or older and receiving 100 percent disability from a service-related cause may receive a property tax exemption of $6,000 in Maine. There is also Parapledic Exemption of $50,000 for veterans who received a federal grant for specially adapted housing.|
|Maryland||Veterans with permanent service-connected disabilities may receive a full property tax exemption on their primary residence. These veterans do not have to meet the September 1 filing date. Surviving spouses may also apply for the exemption if the veteran has passed.|
|Massachusetts||In Massachusetts, disabled veterans can receive a property tax exemption on their primary residence if eligible. Veterans must be at least 10 percent disabled, have lived in Massachusetts for six months before enlisting, and have lived in the state for five consecutive years. If a veteran has a 10 percent or more disability rating, is a Purple Heart recipient or Gold Star parent, an exemption of $400 will be rewarded. A $750 exemption may be provided if the veteran is blind in both eyes due to service. A $1,500 exemption may be awarded to veterans if they are 100 percent disabled from service. Surviving spouses may also be eligible if the veteran has passed away and remain unmarried.|
|Michigan||Disabled veterans may receive a full property tax exemption on their primary residence if the veteran is 100 percent disabled from service. If the veteran has passed, surviving spouses who are not remarried may qualify for the exemption. Michigan also offers a homestead tax credit and property tax relief for active-duty servicemembers.|
|Minnesota||A disabled veteran may qualify for a property tax exemption of up to $300,000 on their primary residence if the veteran is permanently disabled from military service. Veterans who have a 70 percent or more disability rating may qualify for an exemption of up to $150,000. Surviving spouses are eligible to receive a $300,000 exclusion if the spouse was awarded dependency indemnity compensation, received or is eligible for the 100 percent T&P benefit or if the veteran died in the line of duty.|
|Mississippi||In Mississippi, a disabled veteran may receive a full property tax exemption on their primary residence if the assessed value is $7,500 or less and the veteran is totally disabled from service. Surviving spouses shall be allowed an exemption from all ad valorem taxes on the assessed value of the property if the veteran has passed.|
|Missouri||Disabled veterans may receive a property tax exemption of up to $1,100 on their primary residence if the Veteran is formerly a Prisoner of War and has a 100 percent disability rating. A maximum credit of $750 is available to disabled veterans who are renters.|
|Montana||A disabled veteran may receive a property tax exemption on their primary residence in Montana if the veteran has a disability rating of 100 percent. The exemption amount varies based on income and marital status. Surviving spouses are also eligible to receive the exemption.|
|Nebraska||In Nebraska, a disabled veteran may receive a property tax exemption on their primary residence if the veteran is totally disabled as a result from service. The exemption amount varies and is based on total household income.|
|Nevada||Veterans with a disability rating of at least 60 percent may receive a property tax exemption on their primary residence in Nevada. Veterans who are 60 to 79 percent disabled may receive $15,400. Those with a disability rating of 80 to 99 percent may receive. $23,100. If a veteran is totally disabled or has a 100 percent disability rating can receive $30,800. Surviving spouses may also qualify but do not receive as much of an exemption.|
|New Hampshire||Veterans who have been honorably discharged and who have a permanent service-connected disability or are double paraplegic because of a service-related disability are eligible for a $700 tax credit on their residential property. Spouses are also eligible for this tax credit. New Hampshire additionally has an optional tax credit for service-connected total disability. The amount is between $701 and $4,000, is not meant to replace the standard tax credit, and is not added in addition.|
|New Jersey||100 percent permanently disabled veterans or their surviving spouses in New Jersey may receive a full property tax exemption on their primary residence. Or, $250 may be
deducted each year from taxes due on the real
or personal property of qualified active duty
veterans or their unremarried surviving spouses.
|New Mexico||Veterans with 100 percent permanent and total service-connected disability are eligible for full property tax exemption, along with their surviving spouse. For non-disabled veterans, up to $4,000 is subject to exemption. However, certain discharge types may make a veteran ineligible for this exemption.|
|New York||There are three different types of exemptions for veterans in New York: The Alternative Veterans' Exemption, the Cold War Veterans' Exemption, and the Eligible Funds Exemption. The Alternative Veterans' Exemption is a full property tax exemption only available to veterans who served during a designated wartime or received an expeditionary medal. The Cold War Veterans' Exemption is a full exemption available only to veterans who served during the Cold War. The Eligible Funds Exemption is a partial exemption of no more than $7,500 applying to anyone who was in the military or naval services of the United States at any time.|
|North Carolina||In North Carolina, 100 percent disabled veterans may receive a property tax exemption of up to the first $45,000 of the appraised value of their primary residence. Co-owners who are not spouses and who are individually eligible for the benefit will
receive the total exemption of $90,000.
|North Dakota||Veterans between 50 percent and 100 percent disabled from a service-connected disability may be eligible for a property tax credit. Two veterans who are disabled, married, and living together may not exceed 100 percent of the $8,100 maximum tax credit.
50 percent disability has a maximum reduction of $4,050. Each 10 percent increase in disability ranking is equal to an increase of $810 in tax reduction.
|Ohio||100 percent service-connected disabled veterans in Ohio may receive a property tax exemption up to $50,000 of the market value on their primary residence if the veteran is 100 percent disabled as a result of service.|
|Oklahoma||Honorably discharged veterans with 100 percent service-connected disabilities and spouses are eligible for a full property tax exemption in the state of Oklahoma.|
|Oregon||40 percent or more disabled veterans and surviving spouses may be entitled to property tax exemptions totaling between $24,793 and $29,753 of your homestead property's assessed value. This amount typically increases by 3 percent each year.|
|Pennsylvania||100 percent permanent service-connected disabled veterans with an income of less than $108,046 are eligible for a property tax exemption.|
|Rhode Island||Rhode Island has nine different categories for property tax exemptions: Regular exemption, double veteran, unmarried widow/widower, totally disabled/service-connected, Gold Star Parent, Gold Star Spouse, Prisoner of War, Specially Adapted Housing, Serviceman's relief (husband and wife). You can view the total tax credit in Rhode Island here.|
|South Carolina||Veterans deemed totally and permanently service-connected disabled, or Medal of Honor recipients, qualify for a tax exemption on a home up to five acres as well as a tax exemption on up to two vehicles owned or leased by a veteran or jointly with a spouse.
Former prisoners of war (POW) from WWI, WWII, the Korean War or the Vietnam War qualify for:
Tax exemptions on a property up to one acre that is classified as owner occupied and either titled solely to the former POW or jointly with a spouse, as well as a two vechicles.
Surviving spouses for all three types of veterans listed above qualify for tax exemptions on the home if they inherit sole ownership from the deceased spouse. The surviving spouses of POWs and disabled veterans can qualify for exemptions on up to one vehicle solely owned by them.
|South Dakota||A 100 percent disabled veteran in South Dakota may receive a property tax exemption of up to $150,000 on their primary residence. Paraplegic Veterans may receive a full property tax exemption, as well as properties worth $150,000 or less.|
|Tennessee||Total amount of tax relief depends on the property assessment and the county or city tax rate, but the maximum market value on which it's calculated is a max of $175,000. It can only be used on one property for low-income or elderly disabled veterans and surviving spouses.|
|Texas||Texas bases its property tax exemptions on the disability status of the veteran. 70-100 percent may be able to deduct $12,000 from their property's taxable value. 50-69 percent may receive a $10,000 exemption from the property's value. 30-49 percent may receive a $7,500 exemption from the property's value. 10-29 percent may receive a $5,000 exemption from the property's value. Veterans with a full 100 percent disability rating are fully exempt from property taxes.|
|Utah||Veterans in Utah with a disability rating of at least 10 percent may qualify for a property tax abatement. The amount of the reduction is based on a veteran's disability rating with a maximum amount of $244,064. Multiple your disability rating by 244,064 to get your exemption amount. This is then subtracted from the taxable value of your primary residence.|
|Vermont||Veterans who are 50 percent or more disabled and occupy a primary residence in Vermont may qualify for a property tax exemption. The exemption is also available for veterans who qualify for VA Pension and military retirement pay. Vermont mandates a minimum property tax exemption of $10,000 for veterans in the municipal and education grand list. Cities may vote to increase the exemption up to $40,000 in the municipal grand list. Surviving spouses and children of a disabled veteran may also be eligible for the exemption as long as they occupy a primary residence in Vermont. It's important to know that this exemption differs from any application made with the Department of your Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit Claim.|
|Virginia||In Virginia, veterans with a 100 percent disability rating from military service and who were alive on or after Jan. 1, 2011, may be eligible for a property tax exemption on their primary residence. Veterans rated less than 100 percent, but the VA still qualifies as 100 percent due to individual unemployability AND permanently and totally disabled also qualify. Surviving spouses may also redeem the Exemption as long as they remain unmarried and occupy the primary residence.|
|Washington||80 percent service-connected disabled veterans qualify for a property tax exemption in Washington. The exemption amount is based on income determined by the state. Veterans with a disability rating below 80 percent, or surviving spouses, are eligible for a partial exemption.|
|West Virginia||Veterans over the age of 65 and 100 percent disabled from service are exempt from paying taxes on the first $20,000 of assessed value on their primary residence. Veterans must legally reside in West Virginia and paid taxes on a home for two consecutive taxable years. If a veteran receives a similar exemption in another state, they are ineligible for exemption in West Virginia. If a veteran established residency elsewhere and returns the state within five years, they must reside in the other area for two calendar years out of the ten calendar years immediately preceding the tax year. Only one exemption can be granted for each owner-occupied residence.|
|Wisconsin||Veterans who are 100 percent disabled and have lived in Wisconsin for five years may receive a full property tax exemption. The property must be the veteran's primary residence and one acre or less. Unremarried surviving spouses are eligible as well.|
|Wyoming||Honorably discharged veterans of WWI, WWII, Korea and Vietnam are eligible for a property tax exemption of $3,000 of the assessed value of their primary residence. Veterans must have lived in Wyoming for at least three years. Disabled veterans and surviving spouses may also qualify for the exemption. If the exemption is not used, veterans can apply the amount to their vehicle's license fee.|
|District of Columbia||In the District of Columbia, a veteran must have a 100 percent disability rating to qualify for a property tax exemption. The Exemption is up to a $500,000 value, and the veteran's household must be defined as eligible. To qualify, complete and file with the District of Columbia Office of Veterans Affairs.|
Which States Have the Best Veteran Property Tax Exemptions?
The states with the best property tax exemptions for Veterans is going to depend on each service member’s and surviving spouse’s unique circumstances. However, Veterans in the following states that are 100 percent disabled due to a service-connected disability are eligible for a full property tax exemption, which can be a considerable chunk of change.
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
Note: Each state may have unique eligibility requirements in addition to the 100 percent disability rating, so be sure to check with your local municipal tax assessor’s office.
Property tax exemptions are just one of the many benefits available to military service members and their surviving spouses, but is for sure a great one when it comes to tax season.
Leave A Comment: